Subsection 1.- The Provincially-Controlled Schools.

Provincial Administration.—The Department of Education is the permanent central body in charge of public education in each of the provinces. With the exception of Quebec this Department in all of the provinces is under the direction of the Provincial Government. In Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, and Alberta the Department is under the jurisdiction of a Cabinet Minister, the Minister of Education. There are also Ministers of Education in Prince Edward Island, and British Columbia, but in each province his authority is shared by several members of the Legislature. In Prince Edward Island all the members of the Treasury Board and four other persons appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council form the Board of Education, while in British Columbia all the members of the Executive Council (Cabinet Ministers) are designated the Council of Public Instruction.

In the remaining provinces there are no Ministers of Education. The administration of the Department is under the Council of Public Instruction (the members of the Executive Council) in Nova Scotia; and the Board of Education (the members of the Executive Council, the President of the University of New Brunswick, and the Chief Superintendent of Education) in New Brunswick. The administrative body in the Province of Quebec is the Council of Education, made up of two committees, one Roman Catholic and the other Protestant. The Catholic Committee consists of: all the Roman Catholic Bishops, or Vicars Apostolic whose dioceses or parts thereof are in the province, ex officio; an equal number of Roman Catholic laymen; and four Roman Catholic teachers, two of whom must be priests. The Protestant Committee consists of a number of Protestants equal to the number of Roman Catholic laymen. The members of the Council, with the exception of the Roman Catholic Bishops, are appointed by the Crown and hold office during pleasure. The appointed members of the Protestant Committee may co-opt six additional Committee members and the Provincial Association of Protestant Teachers may annually elect one of their members to the Committee. The Council is represented in Parliament and in the Cabinet by the Provincial Secretary.

In most of the provinces the Department of Education is provided with a formal means of drawing upon the advice and assistance of educational leaders of the province. The most common form is in the appointment of an Advisory Board or Educational Council such as is found in Nova Scotia, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, and Alberta. Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick and Quebec, as shown above, carry out this principle by the appointment of leaders in education to the administrative body. Ontario and British Columbia are the only provinces that do not include this feature of educational control in their systems of education.

In addition to the members of the government of the day who change with the political parties, and the members of the educational boards or councils who are appointed or elected for varying terms, each province has as an important part of the central executive authority one or more permanent educational officials. In Ontario, the Prairie Provinces, and British Columbia the chief permanent official is the Deputy Minister of Education; in Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick the Chief Superintendent of Education; and in Nova Scotia and Quebec the Superintendent of Education. The above officials are appointed in each of the provinces by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. The number of assistants and the size of the clerical staff required by these officials depend largely upon the school population and the number of schools in the province, and the different services undertaken by the Department.

The Departments of Education of the various provinces exercise a direct supervision over their schools through a staff of inspectors who make periodic visits to all the